Compensation Commission


The local officers compensation commission shall meet for not more than 15 session days (usually in December) of every odd-numbered year and shall make its determination within 45 calendar days of its first meeting on the annual compensation adjustments for members of the City Council, mayor, treasurer and clerk. The majority of the members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for conducting the business of the commission. The commission shall take no action or make the determination without a concurrence of the majority of members appointed and serving on the commission. The commission shall elect a chairperson from among its members. The term "session days" means any calendar day which the commission meets and a quorum is present.

Board Composition

The board shall be made up of five residents of the City, appointed by the mayor and approved by City Council. 

Term of Office

Each member of the board shall serve a seven-year term.


The Commission serves as an advisory board to the mayor, treasurer, clerk and City Council concerning adjustments in compensation scales for elected officials. The compensation decisions agreed upon by the Commission are passed along to City Council for approval or denial.

Compensation Commission

Members Title Term Expires
Diana Chavez Member 10/4/29
Thomas Nester Member 10/4/29
Jack Myers Member 2/21/30
Gerald Ziemba Chairman 2/16/28
Timothy Keyes Member 12/23/26